More vegan donuts . . . I’m a bit obsessed

19 May

This is what happens when one buys a donut pan; you feel like you have to use it all the time to get your money’s worth! The pumpkin spice donuts were a big hit, but I thought I would try making a different flavour just to mix things up. I had about fifty bananas sitting on my counter last week and I thought I should probably try using some of them up before they all turned completely black. I found a banana breakfast donut recipe on Chocolate Covered Katie, and I made a few modifications to make them a bit less ‘breakfasty’ and a bit more ‘desserty’. This recipe actually uses a lot of banana (2 packed cups), which was awesome for my ‘banana situation’.

I think you could definitely eat these donuts for breakfast, and I definitely mean donut(s) in the plural sense. I’m a fan of BIG breakfasts and I can’t imagine eating just one at a time. The icing used in the original recipe is healthier than the one I whipped up, which has icing sugar in it, but you could definitely just leave the icing off if you wanted to eat these donuts for a ‘breakfast-on-the-go’.

bananadonut3

Banana Breakfast Donuts

Ingredients

  • 2 cups flour (I used regular white flour)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon ( I really like cinnamon so you could always use less)
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup oil, plus 2 tbsp of non-dairy milk
  • 2 tsp of  pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup
  • 1 and 1/2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 cups mashed banana
  • 1/2 cup walnuts

1. First, preheat your oven to 350 F. Combine the dry ingredients and mix until well combined.

2. Then, combine the wet ingredients in a separate bowl and mix into dry. Don’ over mix as some lumps remaining is a good thing.

3. Grease donut pan (or a muffin pan if you don’t have a donut pan). I pipe the batter into the donut pan by filling a plastic bag with the batter and then cutting the tip off so I can easily squirt the batter into the donut moulds, rather than trying to spoon the batter in by hand.

4. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Cool, then frost with icing!

Nut Butter Icing

Ingredients

1 cup of icing sugar

1/4 cup of coconut butter (room temp. not melted)

1/4 cup of nut butter (I used soy)

1 tsp vanilla

non-dairy milk – add half a tbsp at a time until you reach your desired consistency

1. Whip the coconut butter with a handheld mixture or a standing beater. Add vanilla extract and nut butter and mix well.

2. Add icing sugar slowly. The batter will probably start getting stiff so add 1/2 tbsp of non-dairy milk at a time until you’ve reached the desired consistency for your icing.

3. Ice your donuts!

bananadonut2

Here is the link to the original post

http://chocolatecoveredkatie.com/2012/02/22/banana-bread-breakfast-doughnuts/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

